Shopping Cart
My Account

Appraisal Institute Education Trust Honors 4 National Award Winners

August 9, 2016 08:00 AM

CHICAGO (Aug. 9, 2016) –Bradley R. Carter, MAI, of Atlanta, received the George L. Schmutz Award; Stephen D. Roach, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS, of San Diego, received the James H. Pritchett Award; Charles G. Dannis, MAI, SRA, of Dallas, received the Dr. William N. Kinnard Jr. Academic Award; and Byron E. Miller, SRA, AI-RRS, of Minneapolis, Minnesota, received the Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award from the Appraisal Institute Education Trust during the Appraisal Institute Annual Conference July 27 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The Appraisal Institute is the nation’s largest professional association of real estate appraisers with nearly 20,000 professionals in almost 60 countries. The Appraisal Institute Education Trust fosters the advancement of the real estate appraisal profession and plays a critical role in supporting the Appraisal Institute's education programs. 

Established in 1959, the George L. Schmutz Award recognizes an outstanding technical manuscript or publication on real estate valuation regardless of the author’s occupation, affiliation or publisher. The winner is selected by the Appraisal Institute’s Publications Review Panel.

Carter was honored for his work on the Appraisal Institute-published book“A Guide to Appraising Automobile Dealerships.” Since 1990, he has provided appraisal and counseling services relating to more than 200 automobile dealership properties, including several of the largest automobile dealerships in the southeastern United States.

Established in 2002, the James H. Pritchett Award recognizes a Designated Member of the Appraisal Institute for outstanding contributions to appraisal education or mentoring in a manner that reflects the character and lifelong commitment of James H. Pritchett, MAI, SRA, whose greatest attributes included his leadership and integrity, often demonstrated by his exceptional work in teaching, writing, mentoring and professional practice in litigation support and eminent domain. Recommendations for this award come from the Atlanta Area Chapter of the Appraisal Institute, and the final decision is made by Pritchett, Ball & Wise, Inc., the firm that Mr. Pritchett founded in 1954.

Roach has taught more than 200 courses and seminars since 1989 to more than 6,000 participants; has co-written the Appraisal Institute’s Basic Condemnation courses; and has contributed to 10 Appraisal Institute books and 30 courses and seminars. He has authored and co-authored articles, has chaired and served on a variety of Appraisal Institute committees and he has testified in hundreds of legal cases on behalf of public agencies and property owners.

Originally established by the Society of Real Estate Appraisers, the Dr. William N. Kinnard Jr. Academic Award acknowledges professionalism in education. The criteria for this award require the recipient to be an academic instructor or administrator, or an individual or a program that contributed to the education, knowledge, professionalism or development of the real estate appraisal field. Honorees are selected by the trustees of the Appraisal Institute Education Trust.

Dannis has served on many Appraisal Institute committees that have helped enhance the education of numerous appraisers, including serving on the AI Symposium Committee for 10 years. His contributions to the real estate appraisal field – through course development of advanced topics and complex subject matter – have furthered the body of knowledge.

The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award was established in 1963 and honors Y.T. Lum – a prominent member of the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers, an internationally known speaker, and authority on real estate – and his wife, Louise Lee. The purpose of the Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is to recognize one or more worthy individuals who have made a distinguished contribution to the appraisal profession during the immediate preceding year. The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is open to Appraisal      Institute professionals, as well as those who do not belong to the Appraisal Institute.

The Y.T. and Louise Lee Lum Award is given in recognition of, and great appreciation for, the distinguished contribution to the furtherance of the      high ideals of the profession of real estate appraising and practices, mindful of the fact that this contribution was possible only through the zeal, uprightness, sacrifice, devotion, acumen and ability of the contributor. The winner is selected by the trustees of the Appraisal Institute Education Trust.

Miller was selected because of his crucial contributions to the real estate valuation profession. As chair of the Appraisal Institute’s North Star Chapter’s Government Relations Committee, he successfully led an effort to review and revise the Minnesota real estate appraisal licensing law. In working to advance the legislative proposals, Miller spent countless hours assessing the need for legislation by canvassing members of the North Star Chapter and consulting with the Appraisal Institute’s Washington office.



# # #


Stay connected with the latest news from the Appraisal Institute by following us on FacebookTwitterLinkedInYouTube and our blog, Opinions of Value.

The Appraisal Institute is a global professional association of real estate appraisers, with nearly 20,000 professionals in almost 60 countries throughout the world. Its mission is to advance professionalism and ethics, global standards, methodologies, and practices through the professional development of property economics worldwide. Organized in 1932, the Appraisal Institute advocates equal opportunity and nondiscrimination in the appraisal profession and conducts its activities in accordance with applicable federal, state and local laws. Individuals of the Appraisal Institute benefit from an array of professional education and advocacy programs, and may hold the prestigious MAI, SRPA, SRA, AI-GRS and AI-RRS designations. Learn more at




Pop up content here.

Agree Disagree
close (X)