Shopping Cart
My Account

Appraisal Institute Honors 7 National Award Winners

July 28, 2016 12:00 PM

CHICAGO (July 28, 2016) – Terry R. Dunkin, MAI, SRA, of Sparks, Maryland; M. Ralph Griffin, MAI, AI-GRS, of Spartanburg, South Carolina; and W. Calvin Reynolds, MAI, SRPA, SREA, SRA, of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award and Sandra K. Adomatis, SRA, of Punta Gorda, Florida, was named the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award during the Appraisal Institute Annual Conference Wednesday in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Three individuals also were announced as winners of the annual President’s Award from the Appraisal Institute, the nation’s largest professional association of real estate appraisers with nearly 20,000 professionals in almost 60 countries.

“It was an honor to recognize the dedication of these individuals, and their outstanding efforts for the Appraisal Institute and the valuation profession,” said Appraisal Institute President Scott Robinson, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an Appraisal Institute individual who demonstrates high ethical standards; has volunteered several years of service and has contributed to the Appraisal Institute on the international, national, region and/or chapter level; has served his or her community; and has contributed to the appraisal profession for at least 20 years.

Dunkin was the 2007 president of the Appraisal Institute, and served as president of the Maryland Chapter in 1990. He served on the national Board of Directors from 2000-08, and chaired the International Relations Committee from 2008-10. In addition, he has served on various Appraisal Institute committees, including the National Committee of Regional Chairs, Audit Committee, General Admissions Committee and the Master’s Degree Program Committee.

Griffin has served the Appraisal Institute as a chapter officer, a regional director and a national director. He is a previous chair of the Strategic Planning Committee. He served on AI’s national Board of Directors from 2001-12, and also has served on the Member Benefits Panel. He has been a course developer and instructor for the organization, and has mentored countless candidates over the past several decades. He was recognized in 2013 as an Appraisal Institute Volunteer of Distinction.

Reynolds was active with both predecessor organizations of the Appraisal Institute, serving for six years on the International Board of Governors of the Society of Real Estate Appraisers, and as an instructor for the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers. He also served on various committees for the predecessor organizations, including Ethics and Review.

The Outstanding Service Award is presented to an Appraisal Institute individual who contributed ideas, service hours and dedication to ensure a program or effort is implemented at either the chapter, region, national or international level; is instrumental in the success of the program or effort, which must be far enough along to measure and provide proof of success; and the program or effort must be beneficial to chapters, regions or national or international professionals.

Adomatis has authored and developed courses and seminars for residential and commercial appraisers through the Appraisal Institute’s Valuation of Sustainable Buildings Professional Development Program. She helped develop the Appraisal Institute’s Residential Green and Energy Efficient Addendum and the Appraisal Institute’s Commercial Green and Energy Efficient Addendum. She developed, wrote and instructs Appraisal Institute educational offerings on related topics, and she is the author of “Residential Green Valuation Tools,” a book published by the Appraisal Institute. Her honors include the Dr. William N. Kinnard, Junior, Education Award from the Appraisal Institute Education Trust and the Appraisal Institute President’s Award. She has served as vice chair of the AI Education Committee, on AI’s Admissions and Designation Qualifications Committee and as president of the West Coast Florida Chapter.

This year’s President’s Award recipients were M. Lance Coyle, MAI, SRA, of Dallas; John P. Robinson Jr., SRPA, SRA, of Salisbury, North Carolina; and Stephen S. Wagner, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS, of West Lafayette, Indiana. The President’s Award is presented to an Appraisal Institute professional who is committed to the organization; currently engaged in its activities; an effective spokesperson; a representative at all times; and in touch with both the needs of other AI professionals and the changes that the organization must help its professionals to meet.


# # #


Stay connected with the latest news from the Appraisal Institute by following us on FacebookTwitterLinkedInYouTube and our blog, Opinions of Value.

The Appraisal Institute is a global professional association of real estate appraisers, with nearly 20,000 professionals in almost 60 countries throughout the world. Its mission is to advance professionalism and ethics, global standards, methodologies, and practices through the professional development of property economics worldwide. Organized in 1932, the Appraisal Institute advocates equal opportunity and nondiscrimination in the appraisal profession and conducts its activities in accordance with applicable federal, state and local laws. Individuals of the Appraisal Institute benefit from an array of professional education and advocacy programs, and may hold the prestigious MAI, SRPA, SRA, AI-GRS and AI-RRS designations. Learn more at




Pop up content here.

Agree Disagree
close (X)