Skip to Content (custom)

    Outstanding Service Award

    Honoring Dedication in Advancing the Profession

    The Outstanding Service Award is presented to one or more Appraisal Institute Professionals who have contributed ideas, service hours and dedication to ensure a specific program or effort is implemented at the chapter, region, national and/or international level(s).

    • This AI Professional must be instrumental to the success of the program or effort, which should be far enough along to effectively measure and provide proof of success.
    • Additionally, the program or effort must be beneficial to chapters, regions, national, international, designated members, candidates, affiliates, practicing affiliates and/or the profession.

    Lamar Ellis

    MAI, SRA

    Outstanding Service Award 2023

    Lamar Ellis, MAI, SRA, has been appraising residential and commercial real estate for over 30 years, having begun his career as a staff appraiser and construction loan inspector for a local Atlanta Savings and Loan Bank in 1989. In 1992, he began working as an independent fee appraiser for local Atlanta Banks. Ellis is a member of Region IX’s Atlanta Chapter of the Appraisal Institute and has served as the Educational Chair, Regional Representative, and Board of Directors. In 2011, he became an approved instructor with the Appraisal institute and in 2014 began to develop courses focusing on Drone Technology and its Impact on the Appraisal Profession. He has taught in 41 states and internationally on the benefits of aerial inspections for real estate. He is currently the president of Drone Education Services and serves as an FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) Safety Team Representative, FAA State of Georgia DronePro, and the AUVSI (The Association for Uncrewed Vehicle Systems International) Georgia Chapter President. Lamar resides in Atlanta with his wife, Jennifer, and their two children, Haylee and Katie.

    Closeup of pencil and form

    Submit a Nomination

    Ready to nominate yourself or a colleague?

    Nominations are annually due July 31.

    Past Award Recipients

    Arthur W. McElhannon, Jr., MAI, SRA, AI-GRS

    Jacinto A. Munoz, Jr., MAI, SRA, AI-GRS, AI-RRS

    Ryan L. Zink, MAI

    Ing. César S. Cantú Martínez, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS

    James L. Henderson, SRA

    Charles R. Mills, Jr., MAI, SRA, AI-GRS

    Timothy "Tim" Runde, MAI

    Woody Fincham, SRA, AI-RRS

    Sandra K. Adomatis, SRA

    Michael V. Tankersley, MAI, SRA, AI-RRS

    Lentz, Charles J.

    Miller, Michael G.

    Amorin, Robin C.