Shopping Cart
My Account

Become An Appraiser



Helpful Tips to Start You on Your Way to a Career in Real Estate Appraisal

Become An Appraiser

In general, three requirements must be completed to become a real property appraiser: education, state exam, and experience. However, requirements vary in each state. Therefore, please refer to the state's requirements where you intend to earn a license.

The United States currently offers four levels of appraisal licensing.

Trainee Real Property Appraiser

An appraiser trainee works under the direct supervision of a certified appraiser in good standing and may appraise the same properties as the supervising appraiser. (The availability of this level varies from state to state).

Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser

A licensed residential appraiser may appraise one-to-four (non-complex) residential units with a transactional value less than $1 million and one-to-four (complex) residential units with a transactional value less than $400,000.

Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser

A certified residential appraiser may appraise one-to-four residential units without regard to value or complexity.

Certified General Real Property Appraiser

A certified general appraiser may appraise all types of real property.

How Can AI Help?


The Appraisal Institute Education & Relief Foundation offers a variety of scholarships. Learn more!


Appraiser Diversity Initiative

AI is helping lead an Appraiser Diversity Initiative with Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and the National Urban League. Learn More!


AI Affiliation Opportunities

Learn what AI category is the best fit for you! Learn More!



phone-symbol-AI-blue (312) 335-4111


The Appraisal Foundation

The Appraisal Foundation sets the standards and qualifications, as authorized by Congress, for real estate appraisers and personal property appraisers.

The organization also ensures that the profession adapts to changing circumstances and continues to move forward through the work of its two independent boards: the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) and the Appraisal Standards Board (ASB). 

The AQB establishes the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria - which sets the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements for real property appraisers.

The ASB oversees the writing, amending, and interpretation of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).


Pop up content here.

Agree Disagree
close (X)